Enable Recite me Accessibility Tools:
Accessibility Options
To find out more, please see here.

Aileen McLeish and Mr Humphrey Scott

TV broadcaster and journalist Victoria Derbyshire, herself a former patient, hosted Ashford and St. Peter’s Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust’s annual Staff Achievement Awards at Oatlands Park Hotel on Thursday 27th April. Awards were made in ten categories, including Long Service Awards to eighteen people - among them Nursery Nurse Suzanne Timms and Theatres Deputy Team Leader Celia Foo for 40 years’ service each.

Towards the end of the ceremony a surprise award, not listed on the programme, was given to retiring Trust Chairman Aileen McLeish. She was presented an award for her ‘Outstanding Contribution to the NHS’ by Consultant Surgeon Mr Humphrey Scott, who has worked at St. Peter’s Hospital for over 20 years.

Aileen is retiring later this year after eight years as Chairman and four years as a Non-Executive Director of the Trust. Mr Scott said: “Aileen has shown consistent and compassionate leadership across many years and has devoted huge amounts of time, energy and expertise to the Trust, supporting colleagues, patients and carers. She has worked tirelessly in the pursuit of excellence and is driven by a strong sense of public service.”

Chief Executive Suzanne Rankin said: “It was a very special afternoon. We began with a short video, showcasing background stories and interviews with some of our finalists. Watching the video and then hearing the citations of those shortlisted was a powerful and moving reminder of what colleagues do every day, in going the extra mile to provide excellent care for our patients. The whole event made me feel incredibly proud of our team at Ashford and St. Peter’s, who do a fantastic job in often difficult circumstances. Those who received awards are all worthy winners; however I know they feel able to do their job well because of the support of their colleagues and in this way, the awards recognise and celebrate the efforts of everyone.”

The award winners were:

  • Patients First – Jasmine Phillips, Midwife
  • Personal Responsibility – Tracey Bradshaw, Heart Failure Nurse
  • Passion for Excellence – Cedar Ward team
  • Pride in our Team –Neonatal Intensive Care Unit team
  • Inspiring Leader – Roselyn Benedict-Felix, Sister, Intensive Care Unit
  • Unsung Hero – Simon Turner, IT
  • ‘Be the Change’ Project of the Year – the Risk Feeding Decision-making Toolkit, Nicola Wilks, Dee Bousfield, Gill O’Shea, Dr Keefai Yeong
  • Lifetime Achievement Award - Sue Harris, Clinical Nurse Site Practitioner
  • Chief Executive’s Award – Surrey iMSK (Integrated Musculo-Skeletal) team

Our award winners

All the Staff Achievement Award winners celebrating on stage


Pictured top: Chairman Aileen McLeish was presented with an award for ‘Outstanding Contribution to the NHS’ by Consultant Colorectal Surgeon, Mr Humphrey Scott.


Protecting Your Online Privacy
Protecting Your Online Privacy

This Ashford and St Peter's website uses cookies to track visitor numbers. Find out more in our Cookies Policy and Privacy Policy. You can also read our Accessibility Statement and Privacy Notice for your information.